Coaching History

The New Orleans Saints have had 16 head coaches in their franchise history—ten full-time coaches and six interim coaches. Sean Payton has been the head coach of the Saints since 2006. Payton served as the assistant head coach/passing game coordinator and assistant head coach/quarterbacks for the Dallas Cowboys for three seasons before he joined the Saints in 2006. In 2009, he led the team to its second NFC Championship Game and first NFC Championship title, Super Bowl (XLIV) appearance, and NFL Championship. Tom Fears, the franchise’s first head coach serving from 1967 to 1970, was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1970 and is the only coach to be inducted into the Hall of Fame while spending his entire coaching career with the Saints. Hank Stram, who coached the Saints from 1976 to 1977, and Mike Ditka, who coached the Saints from 1997 to 1999, were also inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2003 and 1988, respectively. Jim E. Mora has coached the most games for the Saints, with 167. Payton has the highest winning percentage while coaching the Saints, with .588, and his 94 wins are the most in franchise history. J. D. Roberts has the lowest winning percentage (.219) and fewest wins (seven) for a full-time coach. Jim Haslett, Mora, and Payton are the only head coaches to lead the Saints into the playoffs. Mora, Haslett, and Payton have won the AP Coach of the Year Award and the Sporting News NFL Coach of the Year. That’s just a few facts about the all time head coach records for the New Orleans Saints.


History of New Orleans Saints

The New Orleans Saints is a professional football team in the National Football League (NFL). It is located in New Orleans Louisiana. It is associated with the National Football Conference (NFC) and is part of the South division which consist of 3 other teams which are the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Carolina Panthers, and Atlanta Falcons. The team was founded by John W. Mecom and David Nixon in 1967. The name Saints comes from an allusion to November 1 being All Saints Day in Catholic faith. The New Orleans Saints color are black and gold and logo on helmets is fleur-de-lis sign. New Orleans saints first played their home games at Tulane stadium until 1974. The Saints moved to the New Orleans super dome after that which is currently called the Mercedes – Benz Super Dome. The first 20 years of the Saints existence they were the horrible and barely won half their games. It wasn’t until 1987 that they had their first winning season and made the playoffs. They won their first ever playoff game in 2000 against the St. Louis Rams 31-28. In 2005 Hurricane Katrina devastated all of New Orleans and most of the golf coast. The Super Dome was used for emergency purposes even though it suffered damage from the hurricane. It was repaired in time for the 2006 season so they Saints could play. The Saints came back strong with a new head coach Sean Payton and an elite more than likely Hall Of Fame quarterback in Drew Brees and went to the NFC championship where they lost to the Chicago Bears. 2009 would a season to remember the saints would win a franchise record 13 games and go on the win its first ever Super against the Colts. Over 49 seasons the Saints have an overall record of 331-418-5 and have won only 7 playoff games got’s to do better. WHO DAT!!!! Always.


The topic I chose to write about for my word press account is the New Orleans Saints which is a football team in the National Football league (NFL). I am a die hard football fan and my favorite team is New Orleans saints even though they give me a heart attack every game they play. Me being from Louisiana who else would I root for. They have one of the top offenses in the league every year even though it hasn’t always been that way. The defense is horrible but sometimes shows up when they want to play which is hardly ever. Seems like we got things backwards because we use to have one best defenses in league back in the day with the Dome Patrol which is barely talked about.